Syndicated News
Ministers in the New Iraq Government
Bookmark and Share

Below is the cabinet approved by Parliament. Some of the positions have not been filled, awaiting the political blocks (in parenthesis Coalition/Party) to nominate their candidates: Prime Minister: Nouri al-Maliki (State of Law (SOL)/Daawa) will also be acting ministers of Interior, Defense, and Minister of State for National Security until candidates can be approved. Deputy Prime Ministers: Saleh al-Mutlaq (Iraqiya/Hewar); Hussain al-Shahristani (SOL/Independent) -- with oversight of energy policy -- and acting minister of electricity; Roz Nouri Shawes (Kurdistan Alliance (KA)/Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK)), and acting minister of trade. Minister of Foreign Affairs: Hoshyar Zebari (KA/PUK) will also be acting minister of womens' affairs. Minister of Finance: Rafia al-Issawi (Iraqiya/Mustaqbal) Minister of Oil: Abdul Karim al-Luaibi (independent but associated with Daawa) Minister of Higher Education: Ali al-Adeeb (SOL/Daawa) will also be acting minister of state for national dialogue (reconciliation) Minister of Housing and Construction: Mohammed Sahib al-Daraji (Iraqi National Alliance (INA)/Sadrist) Minister of Education: Mohammed Tamim (Iraqiya/Hewar) Minister of Industry and Minerals: Ahmed Nassar Dali al-Karbouli (Iraqiya/Tajdid) Minister of Justice: Hassan Shimari (INA/Fadhila) Minister of Culture: Saadoun al-Dulaimi (Wassat/Constitution Party) Minister of Communication: Mohammed Tawfiq Allawi (Iraqiya/Wifaq) Minister of Science and Technology: Abdul-Karim al-Sammaraie (Iraqiya/Tajdid) Minister of Environment: Sargon Lazon Sliwah (Rafidain/Assyrian Democratic Movement) Minister of Agriculture: Izzuldin al-Doula (Iraqiya/Iraqiyoun) Minister of Displacement and Migration: Dindar Najman (KA/Islamist Coalition), will also be acting Minister of Municipalities and Public Works Minister of Health: Majid Mohammed Amin (KA/PUK) Minister of Human Rights: Mohammed Shiya al-Sudani (SOL/Daawa) Minister of Labor and Social Affairs: Nasar al-Rubaie (INA/Sadrist), will also be acting Minister of Planning Minister of Water Resources: Mohaned al-Sa'adi (INA/Sadrist) Minister of Transportation: Hadi al-Amiri (INA/Islamic Supreme Council of Iraq (ISCI)) Minister of Youth and Sport: Jassim Mohammed Jaffar (SOL/Daawa) Minister of State for Foreign Affairs: Ali Abdullah al-Sajeri (Wassat/Constitution Party) Minister of State and Government Spokesman: Ali Dabbagh (SOL/Daawa) Minister of State for Parliament Affairs: Safaa al-Din al-Saafi (SOL/Independent) Minister of State for Provincial Affairs: Turhan Abdullah (Iraqiya/Turkman) Minister of Tourism and Antiquities: Liwa Smisim (INA/Sadrist) Ministers of State (without portfolio): Yassin Mohammed Ahmed (INA/ISCI); Abdul-Mehdi Hassan al-Amtari (INA/Sadrist); Hassan Radia al-Sari (INA/Hezbilah); Bushra Hussein Saleh (INA/Fadhila); Diyah al-Asadi (INA/Sadrist); Salah Mazahim al-Jabouri (Iraqiya/Hewar) Additional unnamed positions: Minister of State for Non-Governmental Organizations (KA)

Type your comment and click
or register to post a comment.
* required field
User ID*
enter user ID or e-mail to recover login credentials